is a not–for–profit art organisation run exclusively by volunteers.

Established by a small group of artists in 1962, the Society is currently based in Thornlands, Redland City (about 40 kilometres South East of Brisbane Qld Australia).

The Group's purpose is to give encouragement to practicing artists and to stoke the fires of public interest in the Arts.

Sunday, 1 April 2012

Archibald Prize Winners 2012

Tim Storrier "The Histrionic Wayfarer (after Bosch)

Raelene Sharp "A Strengh of Character"

The Archibald Prize is Australia's Premier Portrait Prize.
Held since 1921 initally from a bequest from Jules Francois Archibald
(co-owner and editor of The Bulletin Newspaper) .
 It is currently administered by the Trustees of the Art Gallery of New South Wales
with the winner receiving a prize of $75,000.

Above are Tim Storrier's Prize Winning (Self Portrait)Archibald entry for 2012
along with the Packing Room Prize for Raelene Sharp's
work of Australian actor John Wood .

For a full list of finalists go to:

To find out a bit about each work and artist on the site
click on the image of each work.

No comments:

Post a Comment